Frank Leigh Robeson Scholarship

Early leadership in the development of the Virginia Tech Physics Department was due to the work of one man - Dr. Frank Leigh Robeson (1884-1974), after whom the physics building is now named. Dr. Robeson was the first doctorate level physicist at Virginia Tech, and was the author of a widely adopted physics textbook in the 1940's. A copy of Dr. Robeson's book is on display in Hahn Hall North Wing. He served as Department Head from 1918 to 1954.

Click here to read Dr. Robeson's Ph.D. thesis he submitted to Johns Hopkins University in 1923. See also: History of the Department of Physics.

In 1995, the Robeson family endowed a scholarship in his honor and memory.

Frank Leigh Robeson

Portrait of Dr. Frank Leigh Robeson in the Robeson Room (Room 304) in Robeson Hall.

The Frank Leigh Robeson Scholarship is awarded to a major who has demonstrated academic achievement, personal integrity, extracurricular leadership, community services, and an appreciation of physics.

Past recipients:

2016    James Stidham
2015    Jennie Paine
2014    Kyle Stewart
2013    Adam Mills
2012    Andrew Lassiter
2011    William Love
2010    William Love
2009    Curtis Ogle
2008    Daniel Hockensmith
2007    Ben Intoy, Richard Samulski, Alex Wriston
2006    Lake Singh, Stefan Tatka, Emily Wade
2005    Brett Spencer, Annalisa Pawlosky, David Adams
2004    Laura Triplett, Wade Mattox
2003    Christopher Graziul, Heike Kohse-Busch
2002    Beth Ann Reid
2001    James Roberts, Seth Smith
2000    Alma L. Robinson
1999    Kaori Kuroda
1998    Jean A. Hager, Seth D. Hornstein, Michael L. Parks, Leah B. Shaw
1997    Michael L. Parks
1996    Samantha R. Fore, Joseph Vrabel III
giving icon facebook icon twitter icon twitter icon youtube icon
Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University 
Department of Physics MC 0435, 850 West Campus Drive, Blacksburg, VA 24061 
Phone: (540) 231-6544; Fax: (540) 231-7511