Listed below are the honors bestowed on previous faculty & staff at the Virginia Tech Department of Physics. Due to limited availability of records (e.g. the American Physical Society does not publish its complete list of fellows) the list is far from complete and only represents a mere fraction of the legacy of excellence we have inherited.

Click here to return to the current faculty & staff honors page.


Virginia Tech Awards:


Virginia Tech Awards:

  • University Distinguished Professor
  • Alumni Award for Research Excellence (since 1976)
    • 1990: Richard Allen Arndt
    • 1980: Luke Wei Mo

National Awards:


Virginia Tech Awards:

  • Virginia Tech Staff Career Achievement Award
  • Virginia Tech President's Award of Excellence
  • College of Arts & Sciences Outstanding Secretary Award
    • 1992: Janet Sanders
    • 1991: Chris Thomas

giving icon facebook icon twitter icon twitter icon youtube icon
Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University 
Department of Physics MC 0435, 850 West Campus Drive, Blacksburg, VA 24061 
Phone: (540) 231-6544; Fax: (540) 231-7511