Tagging Up in Baseball 2 - Solution
Back to problem
- The runner leaves third base at G which is after H and
J but before E. So the runner has NOT committed a foul
in the umpire and left fielder frames, but HAS committed foul in the
frame he is in while he is running.
- The umpire will see the runner leave third base at F and
see the left fielder catch the ball at C. Since he sees
the runner leaving the base before the ball is caught, he will call a foul.
The left fielder, on the other hand, sees the runner leave
third base at A, well after he caught the ball at D. So
the left fielder will not think the runner committed a foul.
Finally, the runner sees the ball being caught at B,
well after he has left third base at G, so he himself will think that
he has committed a foul.